Eu-flagsUAE joins the Schengen visa waivers programme. UAE citizens will be allowed access to 34 European countries, including 28 Schengen states, thus making the Emirates the first Arab country, second in the Middle East, and third among Islamic countries whose citizens receive this visa waiver.

From May 7, UAE citizens will be entitled to visit many European countries that are a part of the Schengen area without having to obtain a visa prior to travel.