The Muslim festival of Eid al-Adha will be celebrated on September 12 in Saudi Arabia and in most other countries, and on September 13 in Pakistan and Bangladesh. Public holiday days for the Eid al-Adha change country to country.

Eid al-Adha is celebrated for four days but holidays in 2016 range from 12 days in Saudi Arabia to three in Pakistan.


These public holiday breaks for Eid have also been officially announced:

Saudi Arabia : 12-day holiday break, which will include the days of the  Hajj  pilgrimage.

Gulf Arab countries of Qatar, the UAE , Kuwait, Oman: nine-day public holiday from Friday, September 9 until Saturday, September 17.

Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, and Sudan also announced a nine-day public holiday on the same dates as in the Gulf.

Turkey : nine-day public holiday from Saturday, September 10 until Sunday, September 18.

Bangladesh: six-day Eid holiday, from Friday September 9 until Wednesday, September 14.

Tunisia, Morocco and Nigeria: four-day long weekend holiday, from Saturday, September 10 until Tuesday, September 13.

Pakistan: three-day holiday from Monday, September 12 until Wednesday, September 14.

Philippines , Indonesia, Singapore, and Ghana: three-day long weekend holiday, from Saturday, September 10 until Monday, September 12.

The Eid al-Adha festival, or Feast of Sacrifice, is locally also known as:

– Eidul Adha , as spelled in the Philippines legislation .

– Eid el-Kabir , as commonly referred to in Nigeria  and Morocco .

–  Kurban Bayrami , as referred to in Turkey.

–  Hari Raya Haji , as known in Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore.

– Bakr-Id or Qurbani Eid , as referred to in the Urdu langauge, in India and in Bangladesh .

Source: Aljazeera